President Hanlon Congratulates Queen's and Tokyo Team on Nobel Prize

Dartmouth President Philip J. Hanlon congratulated Queen’s University on the 2015 Nobel Prize in physics jointly awarded to Queen’s Professor Emeritus Arthur McDonald and University of Tokyo Professor Takaaki Fajita. McDonald’s and Fajita's research found proof of neutrino oscillations, showing that neutrinos have mass. President Hanlon wrote, "it is a special privilege to acknowledge this honor, since it embodies the principles of international collaboration upon which the Matariki Network was founded.” 

Members include Dartmouth College (US), Durham University (UK), Queen’s University (Canada), Uppsala University (Sweden), Tübingen University (Germany), the University of Otago (New Zealand), and the University of Western Australia. Matariki institutions are recognized as leaders in numerous research-intensive fields across a broad spectrum of disciplines. They collaborate on programs ranging from Global Citizenship and Disaster Resilience to Humanities Research and Cyber-Security.